Beer and Cupcakes

21 Jun

Probably not the best thing to eat/drink at 10 PM, but what the hell, right?

That title got your attention, didn’t it?  Not much to complain about if you have one of each, right?  Tonight was all about the cupcakes, and it ended up getting me thinking about a beer in the fridge.  Next thing I know, I’m enjoying both.

I’ve been trying to perfect this coconut cake recipe that I tried last week, and I decided to take it down to a cupcake to see if I could get similar results, or possibly a better one.  Cupcakes seem to have the ability to enhance the cake experience for the eater, plus you can pack a shit-ton of flavor into a small delivery system.  I like to hollow mine out and fill them with something “extra”.  This time it is a coconut pastry cream mixed with some whipped cream.  A little coconut buttercream frosting and toasted coconut and these babies are ready for consumption.  While “testing” one of the final coconut cupcakes, I had an epiphany…more like I just realized I had a Ken Schmidt / Maui / Stone Kona Coffee Macadamia Coconut Porter in the garage.  Could there be a better beer to go with a coconut cupcake?  Probably not.  Glad I saved it for a special occasion.

I decided to let the beer sit on the counter for a good 30 minutes before opening it, as I wanted it to have a chance to warm up a bit, and make sure I could taste all the ingredients that were supposed to be found in the bottle.  This is just one of a series of beers that Stone brewing has done over the years, sometimes with homebrewers, sometimes with other breweries.  You can check out some of their other offerings here.  I’ve only had one other in their series, the Saison du Buff, which is a fantastic beer…but one I can only have a single glass of at any one time.

I have to say, I think I feel the same way about this coffee-macadamia-coconut porter.  The beer pours a lovely black and the coffee is immediately present in the nose.  I detect some of the macadamia nut, but just a small amount.  The coconut doesn’t really register in the nose.  Upon tasting you immediately pick up on the macadamia nuts and get the coconut on the back end of the finish.  Like any good porter, the malts are toasty and caramel all at the same time.  This beer is really rich, really tasty, but sweet and just a bit too much for more than one.  However, with the cupcake?  Pure bliss.  Makes me want to eat as many as it takes to finish the beer…which I thankfully refrained from doing.

I’m not saying you should go to the trouble to find this beer AND make coconut cupcakes, but…if you have some time on your hands, there are worse things you could do with your evening.

3 Responses to “Beer and Cupcakes”

  1. adenboy11 June 24, 2012 at 12:08 AM #

    Try Palo Alto Brewing’s Barely Legal Coconut Porter.

    • Brian June 24, 2012 at 10:05 AM #

      If I can find it, I will give it a shot.

  2. countrychickcrafts July 6, 2012 at 6:35 AM #

    Great idea :)

Leave a Reply

