I need a drink

20 Jan

We all have days like the one I had today.  I’ll spare you the details, but it goes a little something like this: terrible management at work, poor decisions made, your workload increases, no accountability for the mistakes, blah, blah, blah.  To top it all off, you feel like you’ve been in a street fight from your old-man basketball game the night before.  Add it all up and someone needs a drink when they get home.  I called the wife, told her I wasn’t touching a pan in the kitchen, and proceeded to open up a 22 oz. Burnside Brewing Stock Ale.  The Stock Ale is labeled as their version of an ESB (which is essentially a Pale Ale, just not super hop-forward).  I have to say…it was one of the most enjoyable beers I have had in a while.

 

I’ll be the first to admit that I haven’t had a Burnside Brewing beer in quite some time.  After some early trips to the brewery that fell short of enjoyable (beer was so-so and the food was nothing short of a pretentious disaster), I lost interest in what was going on with the place.  One week ago, however, I was killing time between meetings at Primrose and Tumbleweeds in Downtown Hillsboro and came across a couple of bombers of their stuff.  I knew they had started bottling, but wasn’t aware of what was out there.  I figured this was the perfect opportunity to re-introduce myself to their beers.  I am so glad that I did.

The beer was a beautiful copper color with a thick and creamy beige head that stuck around for a couple of minutes before settling into a nice thin spread of bubbles on the suface.  The smell was a bit piney and bitter, but with hints of the malted grains beneath.  The taste was sublime, as it started off with caramel but quickly turned to a lovely bitter flavor that was all at once suprising and refreshing.  I think what really impressed with this beer, though, was the body.  It had just the right viscosity to deliver all those flavors and not be overwhelming.  Clocking in at a mild 5.3% ABV, this is a beer I could keep coming back to all night.  This was a perfectly balanced beer.  Well done, Burnside Brewing! 

Food pairing: If I am not mistaken, I have just found a go-to for some Fire on the Mountain hot wings.  This is a perfect beer for a dozen wings with blue cheese.  I wish we had those available tonight.  Alas, it was leftovers from earlier in the week.  I guess that just means I have to buy some more Stock Ale and get takeout this weekend from FOTM.  Well…a man’s gotta do what a man’s gotta do.

Leave a Reply

