Fantasia Tasting 1/20/2012

31 Jan

I know this post is as late as lame gets, but after a week and a few “friendly” reminders, lets see what I can pull out of this brain.  Brian, Miranda and I went down to Upright Brewing two Fridays ago to taste the Fantasia, a peach lambic.

First, a word about me and peaches.  In my opinion (in other words if you disagree you are wrong), there is no food as delicious as the perfect peach…straight off the tree, so sweet and juicy you have to change your shirt afterward.  That kind of peach is the world’s best food.

Since I have put the peach above all foods, I am always a bit leery of any food or drink made with peach.  All too often the peach comes off as kinda fake tasting.  Not to slam Fearless Brewing, as I like some of their beers, but an example is Fearless’ Peaches and Cream Ale.  This beer has extract written all over it – gag.

Well, I am happy to report Upright pulled this off beautifully.  

Wonderful flavors of the peach were maintained throughout the long, barrel-fermenting process.  The peach was the dominant flavor and the beer had just enough malt backbone to call it a beer without interfering or competing with the peach.  I liked this lambic.  Beer as dessert, very nice.

Fantasia was also available in the bottle.  We picked up two.  You could try and find one around town or at the brewery, but with as fast as the bottles were flying out the door by the caseload (even at over $200 a pop) I kinda doubt it.  Anyway, the fine brewers at Upright say this beer will age nicely up to 2 years.  Barring any Mayan calendar apocalypse I will be letting you know how this beer aged in January 2013 and 2014.

4 Responses to “Fantasia Tasting 1/20/2012”

  1. Matt February 1, 2012 at 3:05 AM #

    MMMMM, I loved it when you mom brought a box of peaches. I dunno about peaches and beer, Ive never liked any kind of fruit in my beer. I will have to reserve judgement on this one until I actually try it.

    • Michael February 1, 2012 at 11:30 AM #

      Matt,
      The beer is similar to framboise, which is made with raspberries, where the fruit character is maintained nicely. One glass is very nice, although more may be too much. I don’t know if you will be able to find a bottle of Fantasia, and it isn’t cheap at $20. But I believe Lindemans, the maker of the most well-known framboise, also makes a peach lambic if you want to get a good idea of what this beer is like.

  2. Sister Schoultz February 2, 2012 at 10:30 AM #

    Mmmmmmmm….. I love lambics. I think my all time favorite beers were lambics. Most recently a raspberry one in Little Rock. I too was skeptical after hearing you say peach. But after your review, tell Miranda if she can still find one, this is what I want her to bring me if she can. And at that price, I’ll pay her back.

    My first Lambic was tasted here: http://www.cantillon.be/br/Cantillon.php?lang=3&page=1 I cannot recommend this brewery enough if you ever find your self near Brussells, Belgium. I loved the Gueuze also.

    • Miranda February 2, 2012 at 10:43 AM #

      I had no idea you were a fan Gueuze! You should check out the beers at this brewery: http://cascadebrewingbarrelhouse.com – I’m just not sure how many of them they bottle. The next time you visit, we need to just relax in Portland for a while, and you can do some better beer tasting.

Leave a Reply

