Interesting

25 Mar

Decided on the bitter sweet symphony from the Gaverhoptke Brewery in West Flanders, Belgium tonight.  Apparently it is a collaboration beer between the Belgian brewer and an American brewer.  I did manage to find some pictures of the making of this beer on the Gaverhoptke website.   Supposedly, the American brought over some hops to help “American” this beer up.  No idea what kind they were.  The beer is labeled as a Belgian-Style Double IPA.  Through my impressive powers of deductive reasoning (the American’s shirt in the pictures), I managed to link The Station Taproom in Downington, PA to this brewery where they have one of their beers on their current tap list.  Could it be that this mystery brewer works(ed) there?

More importantly, I saw this bottle at Belmont Station several weeks ago, and the name alone inspired me to give it a shot.  I have to admit, I was (still am) a fan of the band The Verve.  The song Bitter Sweet Symphony got a lot of play on my car stereo back in the day.  Sappy?  Sure.  But I’m ok with that.  I love what I love…what can I say?  Although I could never quite figure out the video.  Walking down the street like that in the States would probably end with someone inserting their fist into your throat.  Also, what’s with the band coming in at the end?  It’s like: “Thanks for doing all the hard lifting, mate!  Now that the sidewalk is clear, we’re all about heading to the pub with you!”

The beer, on the other hand, was not sappy or rude…it was quite good.  A unique blend of hoppy nose and finish with that sweet and sour flavor I have come to expect in a Belgian of any kind.  Good body without being downright thick, the beer is a fairly potent 7.8% ABV.  There was a haziness to the pour, but the beer had a nice jagged-peaked head that lingered well into drinking it.  The nose was all apricots and grapefruit with a nice touch of breadiness.  Not sure what kind of yeast was in this thing, but it worked some real magic on the final product.  The beer had a wonderful balance between bitter and sweet (just like the name implies!  Shocking, I know) and I was left wanting another as soon as I finished it.  I wasn’t really taking detailed notes, but I might decide to the next time I have this.

If you have a chance to try this beer, let me know what you think.

2 Responses to “Interesting”

  1. Mike March 26, 2012 at 9:26 PM #

    Brian,
    I just found a collaboration between 21st Amendment (from SF, CA or is it Minnesota?) and Ninkasi, called ‘Allies Win the War!’…tasty, had some fruit it…I’d buy it again. Hi ‘randa.

  2. Brian March 26, 2012 at 10:15 PM #

    I did a review of that beer back in November. Check it out: https://taphandle.wordpress.com/2011/11/29/leaving-on-a-jet-plane/

Leave a Reply

