It’s a Boy!

6 Apr

Big news from the family in the Southwest today. My little brother’s wife gave birth to their first child this evening! I am officially an uncle for the first time, and not quite sure how I feel about that…excited and slightly nervous all at the same time, I think.

Anyway, the wife and I decided to celebrate the news with a beer (how else would one celebrate in Oregon?) before dinner. While the wife squeezed a lemon into her Sierra Nevada Kellerweis Hefeweizen, I popped the top on a homebrew. About 8 months ago, Michael and I brewed an Imperial IPA, and I was down to my last two 22 oz bottles.

I got to say, this beer is still pretty damn good. Maybe a tad over-carbonated (is that from too much conditioning before refrigeration?), but still beautiful to look at, smell, and taste. It is a golden-orange color and very clear. Newport, Cascade, and Sterling in the boil, with a dry hop of Amarillo, Magnum, and Simcoe give this beer a great taste and nose. I felt like it was more piney and resinous when we first drank it, but now it smells more of grapefruit and that flowery smell that you get off of some hops. At 8.1% ABV, it has some pop, but is not going to knock you on your ass after one. Like most beers, it got more complex as it warmed up a bit. The malt and sweetness came out a bit more, and the hops were less subdued on the palate.

It was a great beer to toast my brother, sister-in-law, and new nephew with. Thinking I might have to brew this again and make sure they get some bottles to open on his 1st birthday.

Cheers to Tio Paul, Tia Susana, and the Monster!

2 Responses to “It’s a Boy!”

  1. cw3blog April 6, 2012 at 10:41 PM #

    Congrats to paul and susana. Welcome little monster.

  2. Miranda April 6, 2012 at 10:41 PM #

    Congratulations! Nephews and nieces are the best! Also, I think another batch of the double IPA is brilliant!

Leave a Reply

