Take Me to Funky (Mission) Town

11 Apr

Last fall, Michael and I were in San Francisco and found ourselves killing some time in the Mission district before our amazingly delicious dinner at Flour + Water. We tried to hit up a new brewery nearby, but unfortunately, the opening had been delayed. Fast forward to the present. Brian’s long-time friend, Chad, found himself at the same brewery. If you are a regular reader, you know we make an attempt to highlight some of the more off-the-beaten-track beers. This definitely fits the bill, and so we welcome taphandle’s very first guest post. Thank you Chad! 

With mom getting ready to head out of town for nearly a week, leaving me with Aden Boy, she felt it was only proper that Dad got a day off. Now in some lexicons, I’m sure “Dad’s Day Off” really means: go to Home Depot. In mine though, it means go explore, find somewhere new, and sample something new.

However, this day off, I was at a loss. Luckily, Bay Area Craft Beer had just the idea I was looking for. A place I had never been, launching a new beer by a brewery that I had yet to sample. The place, Southern Pacific Brewing in San Francisco’s Mission District. The brew, Funky Jewbelation by Schmaltz Brewing Company, the self-proclaimed “Chosen Beer.”

Being a good beer geographer I wanted to find out a little bit about both the beer and the brewery before I went. Southern Pacific has been open for just over two months after going through San Francisco’s notorious development review process for two years. The finished product is a fairly standard looking converted warehouse using a mix of re-claimed railroad ties and other “native” materials for a fairly industrialized zone of the Mission; and the staff has enough ink and facial hair to get their hipster cards and fit the template. Schmaltz is celebrating their 15th Anniversary of brewing shtick this year; brewing in San Francisco and New York.

Never having been to a launch party, I was not sure what to expect. I figured I’d find the brewer, some dancing girls, and of course, beer – you know, a party. What I found was much less exciting, but I can’t complain, as when I arrived the beer garden was starting to fill up, and I was lucky enough to pony up to the bar so I could pick the bar keep’s brain about the Funky brew I had come to try.

The offering on tap was Barrel #6 of the double barrel-aged, limited release, blend of 6 beers: Jewbelation Fifteen (3 months), Vintage Jewbelation (9 months), Bittersweet Lenny’s R.I.P.A. (1 month), Origin (14 months), Reunion Ale (7 months) and Messiah (14 months). The tart, bourbon- and rye whiskey-tinged mix packs a punch at 9.8% ABV. Being a fan of dark, malty brews and bourbon barrel-aged brews, such as Odell’s Bourbon Barrel Stout, I enjoyed what I had.  I could taste the bourbon right away with the rye a little bit in the back. Another impression that stuck was the sour apple note. Funky. It was a bit tart for my taste to go beyond a one-off, but worth the trip, as were the samples of other Schmaltz product like the Coney Island Pilsner. The alcohol content limits Southern Pacific pours to half pints but it may be available near you in a bomber.

Southern Pacific warrants a return. In addition to other Schmaltz beers, Bear Republic and other Nor Cal faves, the house brewer is Speak Easy’s Andy French.  From what I hear, Southern Pacific brews are mighty tasty, including the wit and the obligatory pale ale.  I am looking forward to more time bellied up to their bar.

Cheers from the Bay Area!

4 Responses to “Take Me to Funky (Mission) Town”

  1. cw3blog April 13, 2012 at 5:43 AM #

    Thanks to the tap handle crew for letting me guest post.

    • Miranda April 14, 2012 at 9:58 AM #

      I’m looking forward to hearing about their standard brews at some point! Thanks again.

  2. Brian April 14, 2012 at 12:46 AM #

    Thanks for sharing a bit of the Bay Area beer scene with the Northwest.

  3. Chad August 6, 2012 at 9:21 AM #

    Reblogged this on Place Music Beer and commented:
    My friends at Tap Handle were gracious enough to let me guest post a few months ago. Please check their stuff out; it’s pretty awesome.

Leave a Reply

