Reader’s Choice

24 Aug

Brian’s recent summer beer posts, combined with a recent lack of inspiration for what to write about, have led me to consider a theme or series for some of my posts. Call me a copycat. That’s fine. I like cats. Have two in fact. Hmmm…maybe if I can get one of them to drink beer I could write about it from their perspective. I’m pretty sure Gus would have some witty, curmudgeony, maybe even flippant things to say. Something like, “yeah, it tastes like beer. What else do you need to know?” I guess that’s not that exciting for our followers. So I started thinking about what you might want to read about and that led me to….drumroll please…a Reader’s Choice series.

This is how it works:

  1. I’ll post a poll for a week or two depending on the response rate.
  2. The poll will include a selection of craft beers within a common theme.
  3. There is a write-in option if you have an idea for a beer not listed.
  4. I’ll post a review shortly after for the beer with the most votes.
  5. If a write-in is not the clear winner it will still be considered as an option on a future poll / post (if accessible in my market).
  6. Only craft beers will be considered.

Let’s do this!

Reader’s Choice #1: Rogue

Rogue is one of those breweries just about everyone has loved at one point or another in their beer drinking career. Rogue makes a wide variety of beer, so everyone can find something they can enjoy a few pints of. And many of their brews are very unique – Chipotle, Juniper, Hazelnut Brown. And they’ve been brewing and distributing them for years before the recent surge from just about every brewery of seasonals, small batches, and less standard styles of beer. Today, most of us can probably find a number of ales with chipotle or another kind of pepper. Is there a Hatch Chile beer someone can send us? But we all can’t necessarily find the same one. The beauty is that Rogue has a pretty far-and-wide distribution. If I review a beer that sounds interesting to one of our readers not located here in Portland, you might actually be able to get a bottle and try it yourself. Unlike some of my other reviews in this blog.

Us Portlanders can sometimes overlook Rogue for smaller breweries, the latest release party, or the newest kid on the block. Most of Rogue’s line-up, although a long list, is standard and consistent. Even their seasonal beers are predictable (check out their release calendar here), and predictably good, but known. The Hazelnut Brown is a favorite go-to beer and the Mocha Porter is a camping must paired with S’Mores. But recently, some fancy new bottles have caught my eye at the store. So, I think its time for me to reconnect with the small, big guy here in Oregon and see what they are up to. I am a Rogue Nation member after all, and I don’t want that membership card revoked.

Not all of these beers are new, but they are either new to me, or I don’t really remember them. Like I said, reconnecting with an old friend. Several are from their Chatoe Rogue line of beers, brewed from ingredients grown at their hop farm, purchased in 2007, in Independence, Oregon, just a few miles up the road from where I grew up. And one is a crazy concoction. In a fat and sugar induced coma, the brewers at Rogue decided to replicate one of the most famous offerings from Voodoo Doughnuts in beer form. The Voodoo Bacon Maple Ale should be pretty popular given this odd, crotchety bakery is now a national tourist attraction. Plus, I have first hand knowledge of a Voodoo Bacon Maple Bar craving.

So, I’m excited to try any of these beers from Rogue’s line-up, but at this point, its in your hands. Vote and I shall review!!

Brian, imitation really is the sincerest form of flattery. Thanks for inspiring this idea.

6 Responses to “Reader’s Choice”

  1. Brian August 24, 2012 at 3:27 PM #

    Glad I could be inspirational…I was wondering what it would take to get you to post again…

    • Miranda August 24, 2012 at 4:04 PM #

      You know why I haven’t posted.

      Sent from my iPhone

      • Mike August 24, 2012 at 7:04 PM #

        I dont know why, by PM, indulge me…..i like Rogue, or any of the others

      • Miranda August 25, 2012 at 11:12 AM #

        come on Mike! just pick one. even if its just for the name!

      • Brian August 24, 2012 at 8:51 PM #

        No…I don’t. Are you using Mike’s inability to write a coherent post as an excuse? Just a guess.

      • Miranda August 25, 2012 at 11:12 AM #

        be nice.

Leave a Reply

