Oregon summer series: beer #6

16 Sep

Cheap and tasty. Who could ask for anything more?

I had the pleasure of attending a 3 year old’s birthday party yesterday.  Pleasure because I was hanging with one of my best friends and our kids are pretty much inseparable when they get together.  Works the insanity and energy right out of both of them.  He even bought one of those inflatable bouncy castle-things for the kids.  Needless to say, mine passed out the minute we got home last night.

My friend is not a beer drinker (a fact that slightly annoys me), so I am always toting my own over to his house when he has cookouts or parties.  I decided that since it was a glorious day, I should have one of my summer series beers on his back deck.  Good choice.  I had picked up the Flat Tail Seriously Low Budget Series-Sour Hibiscus Ale at Belmont Station a few weeks back.   If you have read this blog, or any recent posts of mine, you know I dig hibiscus and that I think Flat Tail brews some damn fine libations.  It seemed like a slam dunk.  I don’t know much about the Seriously Low Budget Series, as there is little to nothing to find online about it.  However, I can guess that it is an attempt to brew some good beer that doesn’t need a huge markup.  Just look at that label.  I’m guessing that not much time went into that.

As the sun started to throw off its last bits of warmth and light, I popped the top and got down to business.  The beer poured a yellowish, dirty-blonde color with only a thin head forming on top.  I was slightly surprised, as I expected the same pinkish hue I had seen with other hibiscus beers.  Then I remembered that we were told Ching Ching didn’t get its color from the hibiscus in it, but from the pomegranate syrup they added.  I believe they said that much of the initial color from the hibiscus was gone after initial fermentation.  Perhaps that happened here too?  The aroma was as advertised: all sour and flowery hibiscus, sort of like sticking your mug in a bag of sweet tarts.  Again, like Ching Ching, the beer was more tart than overtly sour.  It had a perfect carbonation to it and was both refreshing and complex at that same time.  A small amount of grain was noticeable at the back end, even more so as the beer warmed up.

Hibiscus and beer just go together, I have decided.  However, a man cannot live on hibiscus alone and luckily I am all out of hibiscus beers in my fridge.  It’s definitely time to move on.  A couple more summer beers to go with this last week of sun and high(er) temperatures.

Food pairing:  I ate some chips and guacamole with this beer, and that couldn’t have been a better decision.  The sourness in the beer helped cut through of the fattiness from the avocado and the flowery hibiscus scent complimented the garlic and cilantro in the dish.  If the guac had been too spicy, it might not have worked, but this was really good.  So yeah…I would recommend a nice guacamole with this beer.  Lazy, I know.  Just going with what I had yesterday and calling it good.  I wasn’t really thinking about the best food pairing for this beer while I was mauling that bowl of guac.

Up next: Pyramid Hefeweizen

Leave a Reply

