Headed out

9 Oct

I’m heading out bright and early on a flight to Denver for GABF tomorrow.  This will be my first trip to GABF, and I could not be more excited.  I got my shit squared at work and all I have to do now is enjoy the next four days in the Rocky Mountain West.  Like prior posts on this blog, I am using some upcoming event as an excuse to raid my beer fridge.  Tonight it’s a Hair of the Dog Adam.  The perfect way to wind down while contemplating my route on the first day of the festival.  I figured that I would be trying big, bold, and unique beers all week, so I should start with something similar before I go.  Adam is a killer brew, with smoke flavors that are accentuated by raisin and dark chocolate before finishing with some heat from the booze (ABV 10%!).  A smart person would probably buy a few of these and sit on them.

I am sure Miranda, Michael, and I will be posting regularly from the festival, so all three of our regular readers should get some good updates and ideas on great beers to try in the future.  If anyone has any suggestions for places to go eat/drink in Denver, drop it in comments (talking to you Chad).

2 Responses to “Headed out”

  1. Pablo October 9, 2012 at 9:47 PM #

    A little jealous…….. very excited…….and shedding a tear! I’m glad your going and I’ll be following.

  2. Chad October 9, 2012 at 11:03 PM #

    In protest I just may not tell you in anything. Seriously though, the secret to Denver is find your inner Kerouac and find some dives. Larimer Lounge is a good place to start. Not sure what crafts are on tap, but if you can accept a PBR in your heart you may find happiness regardless. Ball Park neighborhood is really a great spot now. If you can, take light rail down to the Alameda station stop a few miles south of downtown and walk over to Stranahans for some small patch whiskey; they will have plenty of Odell’s and Great Divide brews on tap as well.

    Prost!

Leave a Reply

