Christmas Eve

24 Dec
Beer & Cookies

Beer & Cookies

Spent my mid-morning baking cookies with my daughter.  Today’s batch was cucciddati, a Sicilian Christmas cookie (recipe here) whose primary ingredient is figs.  They are spectacular cookies, and I make them every year.  I figured it was time for my little one to start participating, as she will be helping out for years to come with this Christmas staple.

Geting busy

Geting busy

And if you are going to bake cookies, you should damn well have a beer.  At least in my estimation.  I did a quick scan of the beer fridge and pulled out the Gigantic Black Friday, an Imperial Cascadian Dark Ale (the titles these days!).  It was all you could ask for in a cookie-making beer.  Dark, bold, roasty and just the right amount of hop nose and flavor.  Christmas is my favorite time of year, as cheesy as that sounds.  Just a great time for eating, drinking and hanging with people you can’t get enough of.  Have a Merry Christmas everyone.  Cheers!

Finished product

Finished product

4 Responses to “Christmas Eve”

  1. Chad December 24, 2012 at 3:43 PM #

    I had a Hangar 24 Amarillo Pale Ale helping with snicker doodles and fudge today.

    • Brian December 24, 2012 at 9:05 PM #

      That’s the spirit! Merry Christmas to you and yours, buddy!

  2. Sister Schoultz January 6, 2013 at 7:35 PM #

    Miranda, is this the same recipe you use for your cookies?

    • Brian January 6, 2013 at 7:48 PM #

      I don’t think we use the exact same recipe for the filling. I also roll my dough a little thinner than your sister. Small differences, but they make each version unique. Either way, these are really great cookies!

Leave a Reply

