One Hop Wonder

11 Jan

20130107_3625While watching Alabama eviscerate Notre Dame this Monday, I got to drink Knee Deep Brewing‘s (from Lincoln, CA) Citra Extra Pale Ale.  A single hopped pale ale, with Citra hops only of coarse, that clocks in at 6% ABV and 45 IBUs.  As I usually do for a tasting, I pulled the bottle out of the fridge 30 minutes before I popped the top.

This is the first beer from a large collection of beers brought to us by an old family friend of Miranda’s, Mike, from California.  Thanks Mike!  This is one of the beers he brought that I really wanted try as I have not heard of Knee Deep Brewing before and single hopped beers are a fickle bunch. Calapooia’s Simcoe and Double Mountain’s Clusterf#uck were excellent beers but so many others just were not worth remembering.  Which side of the line was this extra pale ale going to fall?

The beer pours a slightly cloudy, dark golden color.  Even before I finished the pour, the strong nose made itself known.  It was a strong spicy hop but on a second sniff, hidden behind what I guess is a fairly heavy dry hopping, was a bit of malty sweetness.  Now, lets see how it tastes.  Wow, this beer is only 45IBUs, I don’t believe it.  This is one bitter beer.  I will have to take back what I said about the malt on the nose, that was all hop.  Now that I have tasted the beer, the resinous hop is so strong it comes off as a bit sweet.  Very nice.  From this it follows that this beer is also drier than I expected from the nose.  Hopheads, listen up, the flavor profile on this beer is simple. From quaff to swallow it is all hop all the time.  But I would be remiss if you got the impression this is a one note beer. While the hop obviously dominates, the Citra hops prove to be wonderfully complex.

This is a very memorable single hopped beer.  The craft in this brew is clear, the Citra hop is the star, but the beer is still balanced and very drinkable.  Miranda got home just in time before I drank the whole bottle and enjoyed it just as much as I did.  I don’t know if Knee Deep Brewing distributes in Oregon, but thanks to Mike I have one more of their beers, the Simtra, a 3X IPA, in my beer fridge.

One Response to “One Hop Wonder”

  1. Chad January 11, 2013 at 6:54 PM #

    I’ve had an IPA of their’s before and their Tanilla Porter. Mighty good brew. Looking forward to trying more myself as they make the festival rounds this winter.

Leave a Reply

