Return of the Mack

1 Feb
Tonight's dinner...served with beer, of course

Tonight’s dinner…served with beer, of course

I’m back, baby!  The self-imposed hiatus is over.  I really don’t have a great reason for staying gone so long, I just needed to see if it could be done.  A full month without beer?  Check.  Ready to drink a shit-ton of beer this month?  Also check.

I made the wife her birthday dinner tonight.  She requested an approximation of the Toro Bravo burger and the Nostrana radicchio ceasar salad.  Challenge accepted, lady!  As you can see, the burger and salad were delivered.  Since it was also my first day back on the sauce, I decided to get into some homebrew that’s been laying around all month.  Mike and I  brewed a “red ale” several months ago and I wanted to see how it turned out.  The verdict?  Not a red but more like an Amber.  The beer wasn’t red so much as copper and it had a fantastic, thick white head on it.  The nose was fruity and floral all at the same time, but with almost no hop in the nose.  That was disappointing, because we dry-hopped this beer.  Not sure why that didn’t work out….I’ll have to ruminate on that part later.  The flavor was interesting, as there was a fruitiness that reminded me of mangoes and passionfruit.  It wasn’t overwhelming or anything, but just beneath the surface.  The great part was the caramel malts didn’t let that fruit hang around too long.  Throw in the lovely bitterness of the beer and it was a damn fine effort on our part…if you can look past the part where we were trying to brew a red ale.  Oh well.  It tastes good and I got a ton of it in the fridge.  No complaints.

Red Not Red ESB

Accidental Amber

I wish I could say that I didn’t have anything at all to complain about, though.  My sister-in-law suggested we drink what you see in the picture below.  I am not even going to try and describe it…let’s just agree it was terrible.  Wish I could find something nice to say about it, but alas, I cannot.

Bacon-Maple nastiness

Bacon-Maple nastiness

I finished the night with a Bend Brewing Dopplebock (no picture available).  It was complex, nutty, and perfectly suited for the end of the night.  I love Bend Brewing.

I am glad to be back and I can’t wait to play some catch-up this month.

Leave a Reply

