Lost Saturday

9 Feb
Daddy's Juice

Daddy’s Juice

I think it’s pretty safe to say that people love weekends.  These are the days we relax, drink beers, go out to eat, hang with friends, or do fun stuff with the family.  I know it seems a bit excessive to call half my weekend as lost…but it can’t be helped.  

I’m not really complaining, mind you.  Really.  I’m not.  My entire Saturday is being spent getting ready for my daughter’s 4th birthday party.  Not that we got a ton of people coming over, but when you do all the games, food, desserts, etc yourself (and the wife), you are going to be busy.  Not so busy you can’t shoot off a post, but busy none-the-less.  I have spent this morning running to Costco and Freddie’s and am looking at the rest of the day in front of the cutting board getting things prepped for tomorrow’s meal.  Only way I am going to be able to tolerate it all is with a beer.

Tough choice out of the beer fridge, but I pulled out the Firestone Walker DBA, which I had been wanting to try for some time.  It’s kind of a cross between an Amber and an English Style Bitter (according to them).  About 20% of the beer is fermented in oak, while the remainder comes from stainless steel.  The beer is nicely carbonated, but doesn’t have much of a head to speak of.  The nose is slightly sweet, with only a hint of spiciness form the East Kent Goldings they dry hop the beer with.  The oak is prevalent in the beer, along with vanilla flavors, and smooth caramel notes I expect from an English Bitter.  The beer has a bold, chewiness to it that is quite nice.  The weather outside demands a bit of heft on whatever you are drinking.  This beer might supplant Burnside’s Stock Ale as my new favorite Bitter…maybe a side-by-side is in order?

Looking forward to tomorrow, although the house will be filled with kids aged one to four.  I might need something stronger than beer to make it through the day…

This will not become a cocktail blog, but doesn't this look interesting?

Never fear, this will not become a cocktail blog. But doesn’t this look interesting?

Leave a Reply

