Beer drought

7 Mar

20130307-161457.jpg
Yes, drought…not draught. I haven’t enjoyed a delicious, crisp, cold pint of beer in almost three weeks. And a week before that I was out of the game with the stomach bug. I haven’t been able to adequately celebrate my team’s rise to the top spot in college basketball…for the very FIRST time! That’s right! GO ZAGS!!

My immune system hasn’t had much luck this winter. But I’ve been to two full workouts and I think my chest cold is nearly undetectable at this point. I think I deserve a tasty beverage! And a little celebration. Hopefully I have fully paid my dues because this year’s march madness is going to be crazier than ever. Hopefully even crazier than 1999.

So to celebrate my zags and my health, I’ve decided to pop open another one of the beers from Cousin Mike in California: Knee Deep Brewing Co.’s Simtra. A triple IPA! It’s a good night to go big.

It poured a beautiful orange amber with a slight, but persistent, creamy head. And wow! There is abundant fruit on the nose…sweet stone fruit, peaches! It reminds me of that beer we had at Great Divide in Denver that smelled just like fresh peaches, driving me to ask the brewer all about it, and apparently it all came from the hops. And here it is again! The sweet peach is accompanied by strong citrus and a hint of floral hop.

Mmmmmm…. followed by a POW! Whoa, I was not expecting that punch of bitter hop. This is definitely a Triple IPA. You have to like IPAs to enjoy this one. That said, this is a nicely complex, full-bodied, pretty damn well-balanced beer for all that hop. You still get a lot of the sweet fruit, with light caramel malt, but then a bold punch of bitter, citrusy, and grassy hops. Well made, delicious, and bold. A beer for champions. Go Zags.

5 Responses to “Beer drought”

  1. grotusque March 8, 2013 at 12:29 PM #

    Wait, did you go to Gonzaga? Because I graduated from there in ’95. (Or did we already have this conversation?)

    • Miranda March 8, 2013 at 2:39 PM #

      I don’t think we have!! I graduated in 2000. We just missed each other. But I was still there for the good ol years!

    • Miranda March 8, 2013 at 6:16 PM #

      Btw: do u want to join us for beers Sunday around noon at base camp??

      • grotusque March 11, 2013 at 9:38 AM #

        Ach! I’m sorry, I didn’t get this message in time–but I was brewing anyway.

        However: I’m planning on going to Roscoe’s on March 29th right after work for their IPA fest. Maybe we could meet up for that?

  2. Mike March 9, 2013 at 9:57 PM #

    I too have a few Knee Deep bottles in my fridge. KD is opening a bigger taproom in Sacramento this summer

Leave a Reply

