Basketball and Beer

23 Mar

Image

Wednesday is basketball night.  And what does one do after an hour hustling on the court for an hour?  Rehydrate with beer, of course!  For the winter we have been playing at Creston Elementary and enjoying a couple of pints just down the road at C-bar on SE Gladstone.  In Portland we are lucky that good beer bars are a dime a dozen.  The C-bar is a good example of one of these beer bars.  They have twenty rotating taps, covering a wide selection of beer styles, including two nitro taps.  Speaking of  nitro taps, a few weeks ago they had Deschutes’s Jubelale on nitro.  Jubelale is a nice, medium winter ale, but on nitro…well, that is the best way to drink that beer.  But winter is over and it may be hard to find it on nitro these days.

Usually I just go enjoy my beer and conversation but on the last day before the gym closed for spring break, I scribbled down a few notes on a napkin about that evenings’ beers.  The first beer of the night was New Belgium’s Trip XV.  This is a buckwheat beer with dates and dandelions. I don’t know if this is an all buckwheat beer, i.e. gluten-free, but as someone who generally avoids gluten-free beers this is new ground for me.  I like this beer.  Brewed as a belgian-style, it is slightly sweet with a rich malt finish.  To me the sweet is from the date, a nice complement to the malt.  Can’t say I could taste the dandelion but I suppose it assists the hops in balancing out this beer.

The second beer of the night was Phat Matt’s IPA.  This a new Bend brewery, at least to me.  I have to say I was not impressed. Well I actually wrote a one word review: crap.  The menu listed the flavors as citrus with grapefruit, lemon, piney and caramel flavors.  This IPA was all caramel with a flat, sharp bitterness.  From a city that produces the RPM and Descender IPAs, I was deeply disappointed. I wouldn’t give this one a second try.

On April 4 we are back on the court at Creston, and I am sure we well find ourselves rehydrating at the C-bar quite regularly.  Check it out yourself if you are in SE PDX, just skip the Phat Matt’s.

Leave a Reply

