In summary

2 Apr

 

Double-Hopped IPA from Breckenridge Brewery

Double-Hopped IPA from Breckenridge Brewery

It was a fantastic trip home this year, but I am glad to be back in Oregon.  We were gone a full three weeks, so it never felt like we were in a hurry to do anything.  Especially with family, you have to settle in and not be stressed about where you are going and what time you need to be there.  But this isn’t a travel blog so much as it’s a beer blog, so I thought I would leave our readers with a few thoughts and pics from the trip.

First, beer culture has both changed and remained stagnant since the last time I was here.  What hasn’t changed is an indifference towards service and updating taplists.  That may not seem like a big deal to some, but to a craft beer consumer, these two items go a long way towards getting good beer when you want it.  El Paso and Las Cruces have a long way to go on this front.

Brooklyn Lager.  My father enjoyed this one quite a bit.

Brooklyn Lager. My father enjoyed this one quite a bit.

Beer culture has changed in terms of what is available to the consumer.  I have never seen so many types of craft beers in the Southwest, from so many different places, as I did on this trip.  I drank great beer from Michigan, Colorado, New Mexico, Texas, and New York.  Five to ten years ago, these types of great craft beers would have been extremely hard to find here.  They seem ubiquitous now.  Bottles and cans have arrived and it is a joy to see.

Ska Brewing Decadent Imperial IPA.  Two words: Resin Bomb

Ska Brewing Decadent Imperial IPA. Two words: Resin Bomb

And the most surprising thing?  The sheer number of people at the taphouses and breweries.  Turnout was high, every single time I walked into a place.  The package stores?  Equally crowded when I went in.  There is a huge demand here that is now being met.  Great to see.  I think anything else I post from these parts, on future visits, will revolve around singular beers from New Mexico.  It’s a beautiful state that is ramping up it’s craft beer scene in terms of great beer from established and new breweries.  El Paso is all about the taphouses and bottle shops.  Not much in the way of breweries anymore.  Regardless, this was a successful trip for many reasons, but it was great to know that one of those successes was the availability of great beer.

Jolly Pumpkin La Roja?  In El Paso?  You betcha!

Jolly Pumpkin La Roja? In El Paso? You betcha!

2 Responses to “In summary”

  1. grotusque April 5, 2013 at 2:41 PM #

    That sounds awesome; plus, if I find myself in the area, I know I’ll have options to choose from.

  2. Chad April 7, 2013 at 2:34 PM #

    In my day out there, on the streets of El Paso the best you could hope for was Shiner on tap; fortunately that was pretty much a given in most places. In Cruces, Fat Tire was typically available, and Shiner. Of course there was High Desert. But you are right, it stopped there. So it’s great to hear that there are some choices to be had.

Leave a Reply

