what’s with all the doubles?

23 May
Oooooohhhhh, sinister...

Oooooohhhhh, sinister…

I have found myself drinking quite a few Double/Imperial IPAs lately.  Not sure why.  It’s not a conscious decision that I have been making.  They just seem to end up at the house and I end up thinking they are a good idea.  Although, this is the 2nd of 3 beers that Miranda and Mike brought me from their Chicago trip, and all three were some version of a Double IPA.  That might explain why I have so many in the fridge.  And now that I think about it, they bought me Sticky Hands from Block 15.  I sense a pattern here…  

This Double IPA is from 18th Street Brewery in Chicago.  Really great visuals on this beer.  The head is soapy, which I have always liked.  Not tight bubbles and a creamy head, but that mixed size of bubbles and the look of a bubble bath that has started to fade.  It’s a great look.  The color is almost straw-like, but it has a light orange to it that makes it seem like it will be softer and less intense than it actually is.  The smell is very sweet, but also citrusy.  There is a trace of pineapple and some other tropical fruitiness I can’t place.  It is actually a great nose for a Double.  The taste is where it starts to lose focus for me.  It’s a bit grassy and intensely bitter, like they used a ton of bittering hops.  It just overwhelms the palate to be honest.  Too bitter to allow any other real flavors to shine.  You can get some of the sweetness early, and a bit of hop flavor late, but that intense bitterness just dominates.  There is a bit of thinness to the body as well.  Overall, the beer is just too all-over-the-place.  It has nice elements, but it just doesn’t all come together.

They can’t all be winners.  Even though I might not drink this again, or seek it out, it’s still drinkable and a might bit better than not having a beer at all.  Regardless of my review, I appreciate the bottle from Mike and Miranda.  A new brewery like this also deserves a shot to work on their craft, so give ’em a shot if you’re ever in the Windy City.

One Response to “what’s with all the doubles?”

  1. Miranda May 23, 2013 at 10:15 PM #

    I definitely sense some Michael in that pattern! I wanted to bring you flannel pajamas! A coffee stout of course…

Leave a Reply

