my style

18 Jun
nice and easy

nice and easy

I have extolled the virtues of Full Sail’s LTD series before and it didn’t take much convincing for me to pick up Recipe No. 5 last week.  Not only do I like their lagers, but this Vienna-style was right up my alley.  The only question was, how far off from my previous experience with Vienna-style lagers would it be?  Pre-Portland beer days had me thinking that Negra Modelo was the representation of a Vienna lager with all it’s aggressive sweetness.  Maybe it still is, but this beer was definitely different.  In a good way, I promise.

I half-expected to be able to clone dinosaurs from the bug encased in this beer, the color was so close to amber (Jurassic Park reference, people).  The head was tight, but hit the road early.  The beer smelled clean and…well…malty.  Not sure how else to put it.  I thought there would be some sweetness, perhaps some fruit or caramel.  Nothing like that at all.  Pretty simple, really.  There wasn’t much to say about the flavor either.  It was simple.  Malty, clean and with just a smidge of hop flavor in the middle.  I thought I detected some sweetness with the initial taste, but that cleared out by the end and the beer had a nice clean finish.  It was definitely creamy and had a real middle-of-the-road mouthfeel to it.  Nothing to shout about, but nothing to dislike either.  Which really, is just a nice compliment when you think about it.  It was easy to drink and easy to think about drinking more (which I did).  It’s a great beer for people who aren’t into hops and want something non-threatening.  Looks like I know what my brothers will be drinking this coming weekend on their visit.  If anyone out there has had a chance to taste this beer, let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

