it’s gonna be a scorcher out there

28 Jun
A hillside view of Overlook Park and the NAOBF

A hillside view of Overlook Park and the NAOBF

I have lived in hot places…southern New Mexico and west Texas, for example.  But those are dry heats.  Here in Portland, when it gets into the 90s with even a hint of humidity, it gets pretty intense.  Today was one of those days.  I kind of knew it was going to be that way when I walked outside at 8:30 am and it was already getting slightly uncomfortable.  Good thing I was going to the North American Organic Brewer’s Festival at noon!

I’ve written before that this is one of my favorite festivals in the region.  It really boils down to the location, weather, and the space.  Located right along the Interstate MAX, the park is super-easy to get to by transit.  That is a huge plus when you are talking about drinking beers in the heat.  This time of year, the weather usually cooperates and the rain is held at bay.  This year was a bit excessive in that regard, but can you really complain about a clear day in June?  Lastly, Overlook Park is a big space that keeps crowds from feeling overwhelming.  I have never felt crowded at this festival, even when there were clearly many, many people inside.

Best place to drink outdoors in Portland

Best place to drink outdoors in Portland

And that tree.  I just love that tree.  I’ll have to figure out what it is, but I drink underneath it every time I go to the festival.  Protects from rain and sunshine (if necessary).

I can’t say the beer wows me every year, and this qualifies as one of those years where the beer was good, but not great.  There are some I would recommend, including the Logsdon offerings of Oak-aged Seizoen Bretta and their Farmhouse Golden Ale.  Throw in a pretty interesting Rye IPA from Silvermoon called Nelson the Spacefish, and there are some beers worth checking out.

With the weather kicking it in the 90s this weekend, you could do a lot worse than heading over to the NAOBF and grabbing some tasters and listening to some good music, all while chowing on some pretty solid cart food.  Go find yourself a spot under that tree and enjoy the weekend in style.

One Response to “it’s gonna be a scorcher out there”

  1. grotusque July 9, 2013 at 4:39 PM #

    The tree really is great, though.

Leave a Reply

