fine, I’ll do it

17 Nov
choco-pumpkin nonsense

choco-pumpkin nonsense

This thing has just been staring at me every time I open my fridge.  The problem with buying a beer because it amuses you (or pisses you off) is that eventually you’ll have to drink it.  I didn’t even want this beer.  But I feel like I was kinda harsh on it based on my issues with early release of pumpkin beers…and that’s just not fair.  I should drink it and judge it on its merits, right?

So I did.  And I’m not even going to go through a meaningful description.  It has “pumpkin spice flavors” and it’s a bit thinner than I would expect/like which makes the “imperial” on the label feel like a stretch.  I am not going to buy this beer again.  It feels like a gimmick (looks like one, too).  Someone out there might be into it, but with so many good Fall/Winter beers out or on the horizon it just doesn’t rise to the level of a must have.  I don’t like that I don’t like it, because I really like Oakshire’s beers.  Ill-Tempered Gnome is a great winter ale.  This just didn’t hit the mark.  If you had it, and feel otherwise, feel free to rip me in the comments.  When it comes to pumpkin beers, though…I’m out.

Leave a Reply

