Head Czech

29 Jan
good to the last drop

good to the last drop

I don’t often put stock in “end of year” or “best of” lists, mainly because I rarely agree with them…especially when it comes to beer.  That’s nothing more than a function of my taste, but occasionally something good can come from them.  A year-in-review post this past December on Beervana mentioned the Hop Valley Czech Your Head Pilsner as a favorite and it kinda stuck with me.  Can’t really say why.  Maybe it’s because I really enjoy a good pilsner.  I didn’t run out to look for it, but when I did see it, I immediately placed it in the basket.  Truth is, I am going to place a few more in there the next time I see it.

I am going to assume most people who read this site have had a good pilsner before.  I am not going to bore you with a appearance/smell/taste thing here.  It was damn good in all those categories…that’s really all that needs to be said about that.  What I really wanted to say was how impressed I was with how “drinkable” it was.  By that, I just mean that it was light without losing anything.  Often, even a pilsner can sit heavy on my stomach.  I am not sure if that is a product of the malt bills in some craft beers, but they do often settle heavy with me.  You can still drink (obviously) but you don’t feel like you’ll have the room for more than two.  With this beer, I felt empowered to drink another right away (but couldn’t, because I only bought one) and could have easily had 3 or 4.  It was probably the best beer I have had out of a bottle since…well, since I started drinking beer.  Again, it’s not doing anything special.  It’s just insanely drinkable.  So this is just me saying that this particular best-of list got it right and if you like pilsners I think you’d be pretty crazy not to try it.

Leave a Reply

