Prepare for Chaos

13 Feb

So I’m sitting at an Irish pub at the Dallas airport. Unfortunately I cannot report on drinking an amazing brew, let alone a local beer. I was hoping for a Lone Star at least but alas, none to be found. So I’m just sipping on a Smithwicks and a Guinness as I kill this three hour layover. But y’all know what those taste like and they are not earth shattering, so nothing to report, but they are good enough with my fish n chips.

I was hoping for a more exciting start to my vacation, but it will do. After the last couple months I am ready for a break. I spent most of December and January sick, barely survived the stress of the holidays, and then last weekend’s ice storm drama cancelled the only surprise party I’ve ever (co)hosted. For which I spent the last two weeks designing and making decorations, favors, cake and cupcakes for 50 people. Yeah, that sucked, but I did get to eat FIVE cupcakes all on my own. I’m being as humble as I can when I say they were AMAZING! That’s mostly because I adopted the recipe from a delicious bundt cake, Le Almond, from Kir Jensen from the Sugar Cube, a local baker I have a little lady crush on. You should buy her cookbook, bake the cake, and eat, or even bathe, in a tub of her lemon curd. If you are in Portland, just visit her new little shop on Alberta – way easier and you’ll probably get lucky and see Kir working her magic in the back. She might even come out and chat with you. Yeah, she’s awesome. Fills your belly and soul with awesomeness.

And while I am handing out recommendations, I have another treat for you: go find and drink Barley Brown’s Chaos. Now. Go ahead and stop reading. I’m serious. For the first time, I’ve seen it fairly regularly in Portland, both at Belmont and Bridgetown in the last couple months. This is a beer I first had about five years ago in Baker City with Sean Kelso. He was bottling it for GABF and actually served us some. It was incredible. I’ve told the story dozens of times. So there was a brief moment of panic moments before my first sip “what if it wasn’t as good as I remembered?” Thank god it was!

If you’ve had their Turmoil, you have an idea what to expect. But it’s aged for a year. It somehow still tastes like a fresh CDA/Black IPA (…you decide) with a nice, clear juicy hoppiness. Even with the aging. It’s backed by the roasted malt grain you’d expect but it’s softened and more complex. Despite the boldness and strong alcohol, it’s smooth and I drank it all night.

So now that the streets are clear, check out Taplister and hunt down a pint of Chaos. I promise it won’t disappoint. I wish that’s what I was having tonight, but Guinness will do. In a little over an hour I will be headed to Little Rock for a little TLC with my nieces and nephew. And in four days I will be walking down Bourbon Street with my sister, Hurricane in my hand…mmm…prepare for chaos.

2 Responses to “Prepare for Chaos”

  1. Chad February 13, 2014 at 9:14 PM #

    Not even a Shiner Bock??? Criminal.

    • Miranda March 1, 2014 at 3:13 PM #

      I know!!!! Ridiculous.

Leave a Reply

